What’s Next?

anticipation

Tonight on the Geek Infusion, Matthew is going to talk about what he’s looking forward to this month. Surprise, surprise we’re going to talk about WoW this evening. But that’s not all. More after the break.

Good evening again folks, and I appreciate you joining me on this Sunday evening.

I hope you’re all doing well and have enjoyed your weekend. I have, though I must admit I don’t really know what to do with two days off in a row.

I’m a chef, by trade. I spend most of my time in a hot, sweltering kitchen cooking for people. I love what I do, and I’d like to think that I’m good at what I do. But, between the job, having a pregnant wife and my other myriad responsibilities, I’m getting to a point where I’m on the go constantly. This makes it difficult to relax when I do find the time to, such as this weekend.

Normally, I’m called in, pick up a shift or at least have a metric crap-ton of chores to do. This weekend? Not so much. I sat down, played some Destiny, got my first Legendary, got to level 23 etc etc. All in all, a productive weekend for my Warlock.

But you’re not here to read about my daily routine. (Unless you want that, in which case…no problem?)

This month is what I consider to be the real launch of the new generation of consoles.

Yes, last year we had the console releases themselves, but there were very few games to go along with them and those that were available were poor quality at best.

Now, not owning one of the new consoles, I’m not going to be able to speak to any of the console-exclusive releases that I may or may not be looking forward to.  Spoiler alert: I’m not looking forward to any of them.

What I am looking forward to are three games in particular, all of which will be available on PC at some point. Though I should point out that I am looking forward to a new PC as well. All things being equal and not having any major financial set-backs, I intend on purchasing an Alienware Alpha some time next month.

Why? Well, it’s a PC which means I can play WoW, SWTOR etc. as well as edit this blog, any video I capture, stream to Twitch…all that good stuff. But, it also turns into a Steam Machine, enabling me to play games such as Assassin’s Creed: Unity without sacrificing power to Windows. This is a huge plus for me. I know it means I’ll need a capture box when doing that, but I’m willing to pay the extra cost to avoid losing resources to my OS.

So what games am I looking forward to?

Well, first and foremost I’m looking forward to Assassin’s Creed: Rogue on my Playstation 3. This game releases on November 11, alongside Unity. I love me some Assassin’s Creed. From where I’m sitting I can see the full collection, allowing me to bask in its glory.

In particular, this entry in the series is of interest to me because it’s allowing me to play from the perspective of one of the Templars, as opposed to an Assassin.

In addition, it’s going to finally fill in the missing piece of the puzzle for the Kenyway family story arc, round out both Avaline de Grandpre and Ade and reveal how the Colonial Brotherhood was brought to its knees.

I recognize that there is going to be little improved upon here as it is (as far as I know) running on the Assassin’s Creed IV engine. That’s fine. It worked well. I don’t care much if there is anything new, I just want to jump on people from rooftops, shoot them with darts and sail the high seas.

Next on my list is Unity, though I don’t have much to say on that front. As soon as its available for PC, I’ll be picking it up and I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say and stream then. Though I will say the multiplayer aspect of the game excites me, as does the new free-running and the talent system. Though I fear it will be a bit too similar to WoW.

On that subject, let’s talk about Azeroth.

As I said earlier this week…or was it last week…hmm..either way, as I said, I’m going to back to Azeroth and no one could be more shocked than I am.

They have recaptured the feeling of Warcraft in a way not seen since the end of Wrath of the Lich King.

I know people suspected that an Alliance vs Horde war was the way to do this, and I agree still, having Garrosh as the leader of the Horde, and then having the players be part of a rebellion undermined that entirely. We could have had an amazing story that centered around a war where which side you fell on depended on your own point of view. Regardless, we had Cataclysm, which sucked, and Mists of Pandaria which was, largely, the staging point for Warlords.

So what in particular is looking great for WoD?

Well, the new character models for starters, though we have yet to HAVE THE BLOOD ELVES. I play one, you see.

The look just fantastic, though I am disappointed in the Orc Male faces. There is a disturbing lack of difference between them, and I think that the player base is being far too complacent here. If they weren’t ready, they should have waited. I’d rather wait an extra month for content and have the differences I’m used to seeing than what we ended up with.

In addition, they are starting out with one or two zones in Draenor being locked until the first major patch. I also consider this to be sloppy. They say its for story based purposes, I say it’s a delaying tactic. We all know the majority of players (myself included) will be level 100 within…what? 2 weeks of launch? Maybe 3 – 4 for myself due to other games and commitments?

Oh well, the story is shaping up to be excellent. The Draenei and Blood Elves are getting some love in a way that they haven’t felt since the end of the Burning Cursade, and I must say it’s far past time to see how these two races are doing.

The new protagonist in Yrel, the female Draenei Paladin, is intriguing. She seems to be a hero with more than her share of vengeance to enact and she is, apparently, going to be replacing Velen as the leader of the Draenei. This will throw a curve-ball in the lore and character development of several of Azeroth’s leading figures, not the least of which is Anduin, Prince of Stormwind.

Yes, I love the story. This is my primary reason to return. I also am pleased to see that they are giving raiders real rewards again instead of giving them upgraded versions of what casual LFR (group-finder based casual raiding) players are wearing. This will give prestige back to raiders that they haven’t had in quite some time.

Also the stat squish is making the game easier to understand. I no-longer have millions of health and thousands of stat points to worry about. Instead it’s hundreds of points and thousands of health. A return to the Burning Crusade level of numerical complexity.

All in all, the game is shaping up well and I’ll be sure to leave a review here once I have my hands on something more than the Beta.

So, this is what November is shaping up to be like for me, and I’m very much looking forward to seeing how it rolls out. December will be a different story as my wife is due between the last week of December/second week of January. I’ll keep you all posted and will do my best to minimize or avoid interruptions as I can.

I’d like to take this opportunity to also announce that I’ll be doing an unboxing of my Alpha when it arrives, complete with video and photos.

With that, I’ll say goodnight to all of you. I appreciate your time again this evening, and I hope you look forward to next Sunday’s post as much as I do. I’m going to try to keep them low-key and considerably more casual. Unless someone does something horribly stupid over the weekend. Something that won’t keep until Tuesday.

Take care, and I’ll see you all next week.

-Matthew

What’s Next?

Leave a comment!

