We’re still here!

current-gen

Today, Matthew is talking about those of us who still have current gen consoles, and how he’s pleased we haven’t been forgotten.

Gosh, it only seems like yesterday that I took my first paycheque from a call centre around here and bought my xbox 360.

I was 19 at the time, I think, and my cheque was enough to get me a console, a play-and-charge kit and Oblivion. Those were the days. But what, I thought, of those who still had Xbox and PS2? Were they getting anything new? Not that I could see.

It seems that, this time around, developers have realized that not everyone, myself included, has $500+ that they can just drop on a new games console at any given moment.

Hell, I’ve been scrimping and saving, and will finally have enough some time in December to pick up my next-gen console and begin to get the promised streaming underway.

Gamers, those of us who grew up and defined the term, are adults now. We have jobs, we have families of our own now. (My wife and I are expecting anytime after Christmas Day). We have responsibilities that take away from our finances such as car payments, mortgages, rent etc.

Oh to be 19 again and know what I know now. Such is life, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

This is why I’m glad developers haven’t forgotten us this time around. Granted, I think with the prevalence of Social Media they really didn’t have a choice but I’ll grant them the benefit of the doubt here because I am a magnanimous ruler and despot.

I’d like to specifically cite Bioware with this award for releasing Dragon Age: Inquisition on PS3 and 360 as well as Xbox One and PS4.

Granted, I’d have been ticked if I couldn’t carry over what happened to my Warden and my Hawke, so I think they pretty much had to do this. But, benefit of the doubt and all that.

I also need to give this award to…uggghh…Ubisoft for release Farcry 4 on the current generation. It doesn’t look to bad either, though I’m not sure if this is a comment on their laziness, their hard work or the over-all power of the next-gen consoles.

It seems that the industry as a whole is having a bout of common sense at this time. They’ve realized that the ones with the cash, the ones who have supported them for decades, are also no longer teenagers in a pre-recession western world who are burning holes in their parents pockets.

(I digress here, but this was never the case for me. My parents didn’t approve of video games, and so have only purchased me four over the course of my life. But it was the case for almost every other kid I knew. I can actually name all three games too: Speedy Gonzales for Game Boy, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2000 for PC, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and The Settlers: Gold Edition for PC as well.)

There are some, perhaps many, among you who will say this is simply the industry reacting to their own lack-luster next-gen sales, and to some extent this is true.

But in the height of the world’s financial collapse I didn’t see any of these publishers lowering their prices. In fact, EA stated they would raise them if they thought the market could bear the weight.

I also don’t believe that this is entirely them being benevolent either. They are trying to make a dollar, and so are doing it in the only way they can and they only way they should: catering to the consumer. We are the end all and be all. The buck, quite literally, stops with us.

We decide which innovations are important. We decide when we want to switch to the next generation of console. Not the industry, and its time we realized that.

Because when it’s all said and done we’re the ones with the control, we just need to realize it ourselves because I’ll bet you that the industry already has and they are praying that we don’t suddenly wake up to that fact.

Take care, and I’ll see you on Saturday.

We’re still here!

4 thoughts on “We’re still here!

  1. Prof.mcstevie says:

    Upgrading to the next console is one thing, however with PS4 & Xbox One asking me to effectively jump ship and leave the entire previous generation behind, I find issue. Viva la backwards compatibility!

  2. I agree. It’s a little hard to stomach, especially when I’m sitting here, looking at my collection as I write this.

    If you don’t take into consideration the depreciation of technology I’ve spent roughly $1300 of games and peripherals. And my collection is small by comparison to a lot of friends.

  3. David Wallace says:

    I liked the fact that even though im still on the last gen console i still get some newer games, I was also pleased to see Borderlands: the pre sequel to be released on the ps3. As a person who is only a casual gamer i was happy with that.

    Also i know im commenting on an old entry but well done Mathew with the blog its really well done! i know i have not talked to you since college but i was reading mikes blog and seen him link yours and it is really well written and for someone who is getting more into the gaming world i loved reading through it!

    1. Hi David! Nice to hear from you. Hope things are going well. And if you’re looking to get into the gaming world, you came to the right place. Feel free to ask questions, disagree with us, or provide your own perspective in the comments. Mike and I are always looking for other angles.

      I also agree with the releasing new games on older consoles. There’s no reason to make the switch yet if you can help it. The libraries of both the Xbox One and PS4 are weak at the moment. Sad as both consoles have been out for a year now.

Leave a comment!

