Quality, Not Quantity

Over the past week, you may have seen some odd things happening with the YouTube channel and with the blog here at Geek Infusion, and you are due an explanation.

Mike and I have known each other a long time. In fact, I’ve known him longer than I’ve been married, and we both excel in different areas. Something we discovered in college. I can produce content at an alarming rate, and he can edit like nobody’s business. This is why we work on this endeavor together.

Last week, however, a snag was hit in two ways.

I produced a blog post which was incoherent at best. It still received some views and some likes, but I was NOT happy with it. After several days, I came back to it and was even more disgusted by what I saw than I was before. At the same time, Mike was attempting to edit my disorganized mess of a post.

Suffice it to say, I asked Mike to remove the post, as I wanted to take another crack at it. This is because I haven’t been writing well. To paraphrase Toby Ziegler I’ve never had to find this talent before, I’m not even sure where to look.

When I write, especially on this blog, I’m making a commitment. I’m providing you with the best information I have so as to allow you to make more informed purchases for your PC or consoles. I’m not the only one doing this, and I’m certainly not the most widely viewed (See TotalBiscuit or Jim Sterling).

In addition, we recorded a Hearthstone video which neither one of us (Mike more so) were pleased with. It wasn’t the win/loss ratio, we were concerned with. It was the lack of quality we had put into the recording. I know, for my part, I had been exhausted, and so was far less of a help to the conversation than I otherwise would have been.

One thing we share at the Geek Infusion, however, is a commitment to quality over quantity.

This doesn’t mean we don’t have an update schedule. Far from it. We are still going to be bringing you Hearthstone on a nightly basis, and You’ll still be getting my streams starting this weekend.

There is a caveat here, however. We require one little word again. Quality. If we finish a piece, have gone over it with a fine-tooth comb and are still not happy with it? It won’t be published, and the update schedule be damned.

We are keenly aware our success in this endeavor demands consistent, well-produced content. Something we promise to always deliver on.

On this note, there are, again, a couple of housekeeping duties I need to perform.

1: There is now a “links” page in the drop down menu. This menu is located to your top right.

2: My wife still hasn’t had our baby. So, in the coming weeks if you see a few YouTube updates which are Mike flying solo, or a few pieces here that are his and not mine, it’s because she has had the baby,  and I’m trying to figure out how to be a dad.

3: Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter, follow us here and like/subscribe on YouTube to get updates on what we are doing. Don’t forget to leave a comment in the section below here and on YouTube. Tell us what you think, and what you want to see.

Until tomorrow, take care and have fun.

-Matthew

Quality, Not Quantity

Leave a comment!

