The Witcher 3 Patch 1.07 Arrives

witcher3

Patch 1.07 for The Witcher 3 just dropped, and as the resident Witcher 3 fanboy (two completed playthroughs and just over 200 hours total in game – so far), I thought I’d do a very quick write-up of some of the things it offers (and some stuff it doesn’t).

The full patch notes are extensive, so if you want to check them out, dive in. Many of the fixes deal with quest-specific issues – like not being able to interact with particular items or characters in order to progress certain quests. And as you might expect, a number of the fixes are geared toward tackling performance issues (though, truth be told, I had very few to begin with).

Speaking of performance, before I get into my thoughts, it might be a good idea to check out this article from Forbes, especially if you’re playing The Witcher 3 on a console. The new patch may impact your framerate somewhat. As a member of the PC master race, I’m unaffected. Just giving you a heads up.

Moving on… My favourite fix, at least in terms of wording, is this one: “fixes an issue where in certain circumstances gravity ceased to apply to the player’s horse.” This is actually one I experienced on maybe two or three occasions. Rather amusing to see your faithful steed, Roach, hovering 30 feet in the air above you.

Aside from all the bug fixes, the most significant gameplay changes in patch 1.07 have to do with inventory management. Simply put, things are just a lot less cluttered. Books now have their own tab, and are greyed out once read. Alchemy and crafting components are now weightless (not particularly realistic, but anything that makes it easier for me to avoid getting overburdened is fine with me). Also, you can now sort items by price, weight, durability, rarity, and type.

These are all nice little tweaks, but I still have some gripes with the inventory system. There are dozens of different items to collect, and often the images for these items look similar (or in the case of things like diagrams, identical) to one another. When entering a shop, it would be great if you could just type in the thing you’re looking for. Like, let’s say I’m at an alchemist’s, and I want the diagram for a Greater Glyph Of Quen. Only he has like 30 diagrams. At present, I have to hover over each one individually to see what it is. With a search feature, I could just type “Quen” and immediately find the item I was looking for. Admittedly, this isn’t a huge deal, but it would’ve been nice.

The other big non-bugfix inclusion in 1.07 is the addition of “stashes” throughout the world. These are pretty much what they sound like – places for Geralt to put extra gear and items. Which is great, in theory. But since this patch already makes it so all those steel ingots and various other crafting items I’ve been lugging around don’t weigh anything, I’ve got plenty of room to spare in my saddlebags as it is.

And the way the stashes themselves are implemented isn’t great. I pictured them being almost like trophy rooms. You have the opportunity to collect and craft a lot of cool gear in The Witcher 3. But as the game progresses, you end up selling most of it off again as you acquire better stuff. For example, there’s a particular questline in the game that ends with you getting this badass sword as a reward. But both times I played through the game, I’d already managed to get my hands on weapons with better stats by the time I completed that particular quest. So the sword just went into the stock of the nearest merchant.

Now, if I do another playthrough, I’ll probably keep all these cool relics that I pick up in the world and throw them into a stash. But the stashes aren’t actual rooms I can visit where this cool stuff is on display. When you go to a stash, it’s just a chest. You open it and you get an inventory screen, like this (click to enlarge):

stash

Pretty boring, right? I was picturing actual locations with shelves and displays and stuff. I’ve crafted several suits of armor, and while I can easily carry them all with me, it would be so much cooler if the extras could be displayed in a trophy room. Or how about monster trophies? You collect tons of them throughout the game, but you can only have one at a time strapped to your saddle. I’d love to walk into a room and see a bunch of freaky monster heads up on the wall. I’m picturing something akin to Skyrim’s trophy rooms.

Look, all my nitpicking aside, I still love this game to death. I know it’s only July, but it’s going to take something really special to knock The Witcher 3 out of my number one spot on the list of games of the year. If for some inexplicable reason you haven’t picked it up yet, there’s no better time to jump in.

The Witcher 3 Patch 1.07 Arrives

Leave a comment!

